Racing Thoughts, Pressured Speech, Bouts of Genius

I decided today would be the topic of pressured speech. It was initially unclear to me until a friend explained it to me. Instead of giving you her rant, essentially it is the attempt to verbalize every simultaneous occurring thought which manifests as jumping topics to the listener who cannot necessarily follow the connections; and I do believe there are connections.

If I really thought about it, then perhaps I have had this illness for an extremely long time. When talking to friends, they tend to say I jump to unrelated topics too often, but I have learned to draw the connections so they do not necessarily feel left out. My first post could be thought of as pressured speech, but then it all made sense in the end… I hope. They were/are all connected to my purpose of making these posts.

I find pressured speech too often to be a manifestation of having racing thoughts. Often I have so many thoughts that I actually forget some. I really do need to get a portable recorder one day, so that I can actually follow my own ideas better, but then, that still doesn’t capture everything. In notebooks I have notes just about everywhere.  And because they’re not in any order and more often than not, scribbled to sometimes an extent of illegible, I lose myself. Where was I going? I lost my previous thought and then I get anxious until I have another thought; which too leads to an additional 20 something or more thoughts in a span of two to six seconds!

When these thoughts try to come out verbally, as I mentioned, they manifest in pressured speech, or verbal puke to the person who cannot understand, or candy to the person who cannot keep up and digest it all but are intrigued.

“Elyn Saks, a mental health law professor at the University of Southern California who also developed schizophrenia as a young adult, said that people with psychosis do not filter stimuli as well as others without the disorder, meaning that they’re able to ponder contradictory ideas simultaneously and gain insight into loose associations that the general unconscious brain wouldn’t even consider worthy of sending to consciousness.

Saks said that while the invasion of nonsense into conscious thought can be overwhelming and disruptive, “it can be quite creative, too.”

Read more at Medical Daily

This makes me actually want to lower my medications again. Really, I still think my cat painting is the best and that happened during a mixed episode. That’s another topic though…

It’s a good article and inspires more research. It is a bit technical but worth the read. I apologize for getting a little distracted there. Hahaha! This is why this article went from being on solely pressured speech and racing thoughts to including genius and perhaps even celebrities soon too, like Van Gogh, Robert Downy Jr, and Vivien Leigh.

“Genius Insanity”… I actually do not find it derogatory at all, but personally “Tortured Genius” fits better.

Let me know what you think!

The end 🙂

 

 

3 thoughts on “Racing Thoughts, Pressured Speech, Bouts of Genius

  1. Link manager LinkMan says:

    You really make it appear really easy with your presentation however I in finding this topic to be really something that I believe I’d never understand. It sort of feels too complicated and very large for me. I am taking a look ahead on your next publish, I will attempt to get the hang of it!

    • valenteine says:

      Thanks. I just posted an article, but it’s a personal one, so it just has a bit of inside feelings rather than objective content. I will get back to work later. thanks again!

  2. Free unlock gsm code says:

    I believe this is one of the such a lot important information for me. And i’m glad studying your article. But want to remark on few general issues, The website style is wonderful, the articles is in point of fact great : D. Just right job, cheers

Leave a Reply

